The Kind of Amendments

A few more amendments in the Constitution of India

The Constitution of India as of 2017 guarantees Amendments, since it was first enacted in 1950. According to Article 368, two types of Amendments are available.

  1. The first type of amendments can be affected by the Parliament of India by a prescribed ‘special majority’.
  2. The second type of Amendment, include those that requires ‘special majority’ and ratification by at least one half of the State Legislatures.

A few more type of Amendment can be executed.

  1. A ‘special category’ of Amendment that required at least 35% of the working class of India to support via vote.
  2. A category of Amendment can be passed only through Rajya Sabha, or the Upper House of Parliament.
  3. Notices or Suggestions from the top stalwarts of top ten (or more) industries that can induce changes in the Article.

A few Amendments that can happen are listed below.

  1. A law on Property Rights, Freedom of Speech and Equality before Law.
  2. Law related to territory adjustments with bordering countries.
  3. Enacting Laws to raise the retirement of the Judges of Supreme Court and Government Employees from 60 to 65.
  4. Laws related to non-autonomy of the states.
  5. Enhance Fundamental Rights, like Right to Sleep.
  6. Place Land Reforms Act.
  7. Increase of the size of the Parliament from 525 to 545 seats, with a greater representation of the North-East India.
  8. Enhancing the powers of the President and Governors of the state.
  9. Enacting Laws with respect to Exclusive Economic Zone and mineral wealth with the Union of India.
  10. Prevent Anti-Defection Law, or lose the status of a national or state party, but just a faction.
  11. Professional Tax to increase from INR 200 to INR 4,500.
  12. To disburse reservation seats to the general candidates if proper selection is found null or invalid.
  13. Provide Early Education Act till the age of Fifteen and Right to Child Care Act till the Age of 5.
  14. To create National Judicial Appointment Commission.
  15. GST or Goods and Services Act.



Leave a Reply